What is the NDIS?

There are around 4.3 million Australians who have a disability. When it is fully rolled out, the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) will provide about 460,000 Australians aged under 65, who have permanent and significant disability with funding for supports and services. For many people, it will be the first time they receive the disability support they need.

The NDIS can provide all people with disability with information and connections to services in their communities such as doctors, sporting clubs, support groups, libraries and schools, as well as information about what support is provided by each state and territory government.

Am I eligible for the NDIS

You may be eligible to participate in the NDIS if:

  • you have a permanent disability that significantly affects your ability to take part in every day activities
  • you are aged between 7 and 65 when entering the scheme
  • you are an Australian citizen or hold a permanent visa or have a Permanent or Special Category visa; and live in Australia where the NDIS is available.

The NDIS Website has an eligibility checklist to assist you.

You can also call the NDIS on 1800 800 110

What services and support will the NDIS fund?

The NDIS funds a range of supports and services which may include:

  • Education
  • Employment
  • Social Participation
  • Independence
  • Living arrangements
  • Health and Wellbeing

Who is responsible for the NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) is the independent Commonwealth government agency responsible for implementing the NDIS.

To find out everything you and those who care for you need to know about the NDIS please their Website.